Posted by: Devin | August 2, 2016

Alpha Dog’s Nine Minutes 

The attack, it hits me, 

Free from warning;

I’m shaken and unwell. 

Labored breathing, 

Pill I swallow, 

Struggling not to faint. 
In my face, 

A forceful bark, 

The alpha dog attacks. 
Nine. Nine. Nine. 

“It’s been NIIIIIINE minutes!!!” 
Damn my blackened vision. 

Damn my shaking hands. 

Damn my faulty brain. 

My circuitry is FUCKED. 
I struggle to explain the reason, 

For this lapse of time. 
Expecting nothing, 

Getting something,

Worsening the fear.
Two beady eyes fixed, dead, upon me;

Mouth wordless and tight-lipped.
Guilt. 

For what? 

For taking time 

To take good care of me. 
Alpha dog stares straight, unwavers.

Sympathy’s a lie.

Just cold, cruel blackness,

Void of caring,

Void of human love. 
Ashamed, 

I look away.

Responses

  1. Hey, Devin!

    I’m loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    • I’m 32, actually, hehe. What are you looking for?


Leave a Reply

Categories

