Posted by: Devin | June 17, 2016

“Too Much, Too Much”

I heard myself on the phone today.
Is that really the way I sound?
I always thought my voice was
a little bit deeper
a little bit more sure
a little bit more grown up.

It’s always too much, too much,
A little bit not enough.
It’s always more this, less that,
A little bit less perfect.
Why can’t it be
That’s fine, that’s great
Perfect just the way it is.
Too much, too much,
A little bit not enough.
Not quite, not quite,
Close isn’t good enough.

I saw myself in the mirror today.
Is that really the way I look?
I always thought my body was
a little bit thinner
a little bit hotter
a little bit less flawed.

It’s always too much, too much,
A little bit not enough.
It’s always more this, less that,
A little bit less perfect.
Why can’t it be
That’s fine, that’s great
Perfect just the way it is.
Too much, too much,
A little bit not enough.
Not quite, not quite,
Close isn’t good enough.

I saw myself as a child today.
Would I say the same things to her?
Would I say she’s not beautiful?
a little bit too thin
a little bit too shy
a little bit too flawed?

I would tell her she’s…

So bright, so bright
Just like a shooting star
She’ll always be just fine, just fine
A beauty just the way she is
So bright, so bright
Just like a shooting star
She’s gonna be just fine, just fine
She’ll always be good enough.

Leave a Reply

Categories

