Posted by: Devin | September 26, 2014

Bubble Background Painting Tutorial

I found out how to do this online and tweaked it to suit my liking. Making watercolor backgrounds with bubbles is my new favorite thing.

JOIN ME!

image

1. You will need: something to mix with (I used a paintbrush), paints (I used watercolor as well as Crayon fingerpaint for added color), dish soap, a straw, and something like a palette to mix colors in.

Mix your paints with water and dish soap. You may have to experiment a bit to get the right balance of paint and soap. I had to mess around to get enough paint to get the bubbles to be colored.

It helps to use the straw to blow little bubbles in your color wells, to gauge how your mixture is doing.

2. Dip the end of the straw in one of your color mixtures. I found a forty-five degree dunking angle worked best, to keep the stuff in there. You want a tiny film of your colored soap to fill the end of the straw.

Now blow through the straw to make bubbles! Yay! You did this as a kid, come on now.

3. If you do it slowly enough, you can move the bubble from your straw to the paper so it rests there. When it pops, it will leave a colored bubble mark and splashes on the page.

4. Fill your page with however many bubbles you want for your background. This is after they’ve all popped.

5. You don’t have to dab off excess paint, but I wanted my background to be lighter.

6. Tada! Bubble background. I’m letting mine dry until I paint something on it in a day or two.

Responses

  1. Im going to try this !!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

