Posted by: Devin | January 14, 2012

First Post

I’ve been meaning to make a blog for awhile, but it’s actually become a bit of a necessity now, due to the fact that I’m finally getting off my ass (well, I’m sitting on it at the moment) and trying to get a few things accomplished this year.

  • Release my second book, Scenes of Poetic Destruction. I have proof copies ordered, and so this will definitely happen within the next month. I would like to sell a few more copies than I did last time. It isn’t about that to me at all, but I would at least like to expand my number of readers. This is where this blog may or may not come in. I’m hoping to share some poems here, both from the book and as I write new ones. Hurrah!
  • Write more often. Maybe not every day, but a few times a week at least. I self-published my first book in 2007, and it took until 2011 for me to have enough to put this second book together.
  • Learn basics of the ukulele. I’m 28 and have no musical talents whatsoever, and frankly, it’s time to learn! I can’t sing AT ALL, so that’s out. The ukulele has been called the easiest instrument to learn. I have purchased a Lanikai LU-21 soprano ukulele, and am teaching myself via random online sites and books. I just discovered that there is a ukulele group in Portland that offers beginner group lessons, so I’m also going to be looking into that. Thus far, I’m just trying to get the feel of the uke down, how to hold it, tune it, and work on my first three chords (C, F, and G7). I have a tender left index finger, and I like it. It means I’m actually working at this!
  • Complete my first Wreck This Journal. I love the idea of finding creativity through destruction, and not just because “destruction” is in the title of this new book of mine.
  • Successfully complete my capstone (Queer Youth), Cell Biology, Physics, Organic Chemistry, and Chemistry 223. If I need to repeat any of these, I will accept this, but I’m getting sick of still being in college. Those are the only classes I need to graduate, aside from possibly one more random biology class.
  • Learn some basic German through Rosetta Stone.
Leave a Reply

Categories

